What are the Five Freedoms?

The Five Freedoms
The Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare
The Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare were intended as basic ideals of how people treat farm animals, but they could be applied to all animals. The freedoms are:
Freedom to express normal behaviour
Freedom from pain injury and disease
Freedom from hunger and thirst
Freedom from fear and distress
Freedom from discomfort
The Five Freedoms were first proposed in Britain in the 1960's by the Farm Animal Welfare Council, established by the British government to advise it on legislative and other changes for farm animals. Other bodies concerned with animal welfare have approved the Freedoms. Unfortunately, most people, such as farmers, ignore them in practice; hard economics says ‘Down With Principles’. More at How to Do Animal Rights: The Five Freedoms.